Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Atmosphere, Oceans, and Climate

Faculty

Richard Allen

Garniss H. Curtis Endowed Department Chair; Professor & Director of Berkeley Seismological Laboratory

Regional seismic structure and dynamics, mantle upwelling processes. Earthquake rupture mechanisms. Seismic hazard mitigation including earthquake early warning systems.

rallen@berkeley.edu279 McCone Hall

Walter Alvarez

Professor of the Graduate School

Stratigraphy and Earth history, tectonics, stratigraphy of pelagic limestones.

platetec@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2602
Fax: (510) 643-9980
317 McCone Hall

Jill F. Banfield

Professor

Mineralogy, environmental geochemistry, geomicrobiology, environmental microbiology and nanogeoscience.

jbanfield@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 316 4334
Fax: N/A
369 McCone Hall

James Bishop

Professor

Ocean carbon cycle dynamics, remote sensing, aquatic chemistry, marine biogeochemistry, land - ocean biogeochemistry, chemical oceanography, ocean sensors and autonomous observing systems.

jkbishop@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642 6110
499 McCone (UCB) and 70A-4405 (LBNL)

Kristie A Boering

Professor & the Lieselotte and David Templeton Professor of Chemistry

Atmospheric chemistry and climate on Earth and other planets.

boering@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-3472
Fax: (510) 642-8369
BG3 Giauque

William Boos

Associate Professor

Atmospheric science; Climate dynamics; Large-scale precipitation

william.boos@yale.eduArriving July 1, 2017

Bruce Buffett

Professor

Dynamics and evolution of planetary interiors, including mantle convection, plate tectonics, and planetary dynamos. Physical modeling of gas hydrates and consequences for climate change.

bbuffett@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642 1251
Fax: (510) 643-9980
383 McCone Hall

Roland Bürgmann

Professor

Crustal deformation and active tectonics, volcano deformation, fault geometry and structure, frictional properties of faults, and active deformation from non-tectonic processes.

burgmann@seismo.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-9545
Fax: (510) 643-9980
389 McCone Hall

Eugene Chiang

Professor of EPS & Astronomy

Theoretical astrophysics focusing on the origin and evolution of planetary systems, both Extra-Solar and Solar.

echiang@astro.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 701-5996
Fax: (510) 642-3411
Hearst Field Annex B-20

Ronald Cohen

Professor of EPS & Chemistry

Atmospheric Chemistry, Environmental Chemistry; Physical Chemistry; Analytical Chemistry; Ozone; Nitrogen oxides; Water.

rccohen@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2735
B45 Hildebrand Hall

William Collins

Professor in Residence; Director for the Climate and Ecosystem Sciences Division, LBNL & Director of the Climate Readiness Institute

Interactions of clouds and aerosols with solar and terrestrial radiation, role of clouds and aerosols in climate change,development of new methods for modeling global aerosols, and clouds in GCMs

wdcollins@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-495-2407
375 McCone Hall

Kurt Cuffey

Professor of EPS & Geography and the Martin Distinguished Chair in Ocean, Earth and Climate Science

Glaciology, Glacial Geomorphology, and Climate Change

kcuffey@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-1641
Fax: (510) 643-9980
525 McCone

Imke De Pater

Professor of EPS & Astronomy

Astronomy, Planetary Science, Adaptive optics and Radio Observations of the giant planets, their rings and satellites.

imke@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-1947
605A Campbell Hall

Donald DePaolo

Chancellor’s Professor, Emeritus & Professor of the Graduate School

Application of mass spectrometry, radiogenic isotope geochemistry, and principles of physics and chemistry to fundamental problems in geology.

depaolo@eps.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-5064
Fax: (510) 642-9520
473 McCone Hall

William E. DIETRICH

Professor

Seeking mechanistic, quantitative understanding of the form and evolution of landscapes. In addition, we are seeking linkages between ecological and geomorphic processes, and building tools to tackle pressing environmental problems.

bill@eps.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2633
Fax: (510) 643-9980
313 McCone Hall

Douglas Dreger

Professor

Use of waveform data to investigate seismic source, wave propagation, and Earth structure problems including geophysical inverse problems.

dreger@seismo.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-1719
Fax: (510) 643-5811
281 McCone Hall

Inez Fung

Professor

Geophysical fluid dynamics and large-scale numerical modeling. Biogeochemical cycles. Remote sensing of earth systems. Atmosphere-ocean interactions, and atmosphere-biosphere interactions.

ifung@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-9367
Fax: (510) 643-9980
399 McCone Hall/ 335 Hilgard Hall

Paul Henshaw

Visiting Professor

Petroleum systems include the evolution of basins with their stratigraphic, structural and biogeochemical processes through time.

phenshaw@berkeley.edu
Phone: 925-212-9492
415 McCone Hall

Raymond Jeanloz

Professor of EPS & Astronomy

The nature and evolution of planetary interiors, as well as the properties of materials at high pressures.

jeanloz@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2639
Fax: (510) 643-9980
491 McCone Hall

Michael Manga

Professor & the Judy Webb Endowed Chair of Physical Sciences

Geological processes involving fluids, including problems in physical volcanology, geodynamics, hydrogeology, and geomorphology.

manga@seismo.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-8532
Fax: (510) 643-9980
381 McCone Hall

Burkhard Militzer

Associate Professor

Computer simulations of materials in interiors of the earth and giant planets, first-principle simulation techniques, equation of state calculations.

militzer@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-7414
Fax: (510) 643-9980
407 McCone Hall

Steve Pride

Adjunct Professor

Crusted seismology, poroelasticity, electrical properties of rocks, physics of brittle fracture

SRPride@lbl.gov

James Rector

Professor of EPS & Civil Engineering

Borehole seismology, Reservoir characterization, Seismic wave propagation in sedimentary basins, Multidimensional digital signal processing, Non-invasive imaging of materials.

jwrector@lbl.gov
Phone: (510) 643-7820
Fax: (510) 642-7476
412 Davis Hall

Paul Renne

Professor in Residence & Director of Berkeley Geochronology Center

Applications of geochronology and paleomagnetism to various problems in the evolution of the lithosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere, and biosphere.

prenne@bgc.org
Phone: (510) 644-1350
Fax: (510) 644-9201
2455 Ridge Road

Mark Richards

Professor

Mantle convection and large-scale dynamics of the Earth’s interior; Internal dynamics of Venus, Mars, and the Moon; Rotational dynamics and gravity fields of the terrestrial planets; History and dynamics of global plate motions; Computational geophysics; Igneous processes in the mantle and large-scale volcanism; Geological evolution of the Galápagos Archipelago and ridge system; Tectonics and dynamics of the Andean continental margin; Geological causes of mass extinction

Mark_Richards@berkeley.edu
Fax: (510) 643-9980
285 McCone Hall

Barbara A ROMANOWICZ

Professor of the Graduate School

Deep earth structure and dynamics using seismological tools. Earthquake processes and scaling laws. Real time estimation of earthquake parameters. Development of modern broadband seismic and geophysical observatories on land and in the oceans. Planetary seismology.

barbara@seismo.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-5690
Fax: (510) 643-5811
291 McCone Hall

David Romps

Associate Professor

Atmospheric dynamics, moist convection and turbulence, and the interaction of clouds with Earth's climate.

romps@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-7095
Fax: 510-486-7775
377 McCone Hall

Stephen Self

Adjunct Professor

Physical volcanology; field studies of products of large eruptions - flood basalts, calderas, and ignimbrites; environmental impact of volcanism. www.stephenself.com

sself@berkeley.edu
Phone: 1-510-410-5574
McCone 415

David Shuster

Professor

Noble gas geochemistry, thermochronometry, and cosmogenic nuclide observations applied to problems involving alpine glacial erosion, chemical weathering, lunar impacts and magnetism, and thermal conditions of Martian meteorites

dshuster@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2607
Fax: (510) 644-9201
479 McCone Hall

Daniel Stolper

Assistant Professor

Biogeochemistry; Earth History; Geobiology; Global Climate Studies; Organic Geochemistry; Stable Isotope Geochemistry

dstolper@berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-9177
McCone 405

Nicholas Swanson-Hysell

Assistant Professor

Earth history as revealed through the stratigraphic record; Using paleomagnetic and rock magnetic data to constrain ancient paleogeography and behavior of the geomagnetic field.

swanson-hysell@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 542-4787
Fax: (510) 643-9980
393 McCone Hall

Chi-Yuen Wang

Professor of the Graduate School

Hydrogeology; interaction of water with earthquakes, active tectonics.

chiyuen@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-2288
Fax: (510) 643-9980
407 McCone Hall

Hans-Rudolf WENK

Professor of the Graduate School

Mineralogy-Crystallography, Anisotropy-Texture Development, Field Investigations.

wenk@berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 642-7431
Fax: (510) 643-9980
495 McCone Hall

George Brimhall

Professor Emeritus

Mineral resources, mineral exploration science, field geology, surface processes, low temperature geochemistry, granitic batholiths, soil geochemistry, geochronology of weathering systems.

391 McCone Hall
brimhall@berkeley.edu

Mark Bukowinski

Professor Emeritus

Physics and chemistry of planetary interiors, theoretical mineral physics, nature of bonding in deep earth minerals, modeling of geochemical processes, thermal and chemical evolution of the earth.

Lynn Ingram

Professor Emerita

Paleoclimatic and paleo-environmental reconstruction in aquatic environments using sedimentological, paleontological, and geochemical data.

113 McCone Hall
ingram@eps.berkeley.edu
Phone: (510) 643-1474
Fax: (510) 643-9980

Lane Johnson

Professor Emeritus

Structure and processes within the earth, seismic sources with particular application to the monitoring of nuclear test ban treaties. Development of improved theoretical and computational methods of treating wave propagation. Application of inverse methods to geophysical problems.

James Kirchner

Professor Emeritus

Watershed hydrology and biogeochemistry, Environmental geochemistry, Geomorphology , Evolutionary ecology, Paleobiology, Analysis of environmental data.

Doris Sloan

Adjunct Professor

History of San Francisco Bay, Early Paleozoic environments, regional geology.

123 McCone Hall
dsloan@eps.berkeley.edu

307 McCone