Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Near-Surface Geochemistry and Geobiology

Graduate Students

Name / Contact Advisor / Education / Research
Sevan Adourian
Michael Ariel Antonellimantonelli@berkeley.edu181 McCone

Advisor: Don DePaolo
Education: MS 2013 (Geology) U of Maryland; BSc 2011 (Honors Geology) U of Alberta.
Research Interests: Stable isotope geochemistry, Earth-system science, hydrothermal processes, petrology.

Hannah Louise Bournehbourne@berkeley.edu413 McCone

Advisor:  Jim Bishop

Education:  BA 2011 (Earth and Environmental Sciences) Wesleyan University

Research interest:  Marine carbon and trace metal cycles

Sierra Boyd

Advisor:  Douglas Dreger

Research interest: seismic source physics

Stephen Breenbreen@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: BS (Physics) University of California, Irvine, BA (Economics) University of California, Santa Cruz, MS (Civil Engineering: Hydrology) University of California, Irvine.
Research Interest: Multiphase flow in porous media

Alexander Brykbryk@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Bill Dietrich
Research Interests: Geomorphology and Sedimentary Geology

Brian Chandlersocm12@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Hans-Rudolph Wenk

Education: B.S. Physics w/Materials Engineering University of Alabama Birmingham

Alexander Charnalexcharn5@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Bill Collins
Education: B.S. (2015), Environmental Engineering Science, UC Berkeley
Research Interests: Climate science/modeling, clouds, precipitation extremes

Li-Wei Chenliwei_chen@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Education: MS 2014 (Geoscience) National Taiwan University; BSc 2012 (Earth Science) National Central University.
Research interests: Global seismology, tomography, ambient noise  

 

Robert Citronricitron@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor:  Michael Manga

Research interests:  Planetary geodynamics, Mars

https://sites.google.com/view/robertcitron

Anna Clingeraeclinger@berkeley.edu483 McCone

Advisors:  Don DePaolo and David Shuster

Education:  BS 2015 (Earth and Environmental Sciences) University of Michigan; MS 2016 (Earth and Environmental Sciences) University of Michigan

Research interests:  Isotope geochemistry, earth surface processes, the cryosphere

Octavia V. Cromptonoctavia@berkeley.edu301 McCone Hall
William Daviswilliamjsdavis@berkeley.edu175 McCone Hall

Advisor: Bruce Buffett
Education: MSci. (2017), Geophysics, University College London
Research Interests: 

Website: posgeo.wordpress.com

Matthew R Diamondmrdiamond@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Raymond Jeanloz
Education: BS 2013 (Geochemistry) California Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Mineral physics, Planetary interiors, Metallization of salts under high pressure

Jacob P. Edmanjedman@berkeley.edu449 McCone

Advisor: David Romps
Education: BS 2011 (Physics, Earth & Environmental Science) University of California, Irvine
Research interests: Atmospheric dynamics, Clouds, Climate change
http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~jedman/

Vanessa Eni
Luke Fairchildlfairchild@berkeley.edu355 McCone

Advisor:  Nick Swanson-Hysell

Education:  BA 2015 (Geology), Carleton College

Research interests: Paleomagnetism, true polar wander, impact cratering, geodynamics

Kristen Fauriakfauria@berkeley.edu183 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: MS 2013 (Civil and Environmental Engineering) University of California, Davis; BS 2010 (Geology, Mathematics) University of Oregon
Research interests: Geological fluid mechanics, Particle driven density currents, Multiphase flows, Geomorphology
https://sites.google.com/site/kristenfauria/

Isabel Fendleyisabel.fendley@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Education: B.Sc. 2015 (Honours in Planetary Science) McGill University

Advisor:  Paul Renne

Research interests: Stable and radiogenic isotope geochemistry, paleoclimate, mass extinctions

Benjamin Fildierbenjamin.fildier@berkeley.edu449 McCone (510)356-8626

Advisor: Bill Collins.
Education: MS 2013 (Environmental Engineering), UC Berkeley; Ecole polytechnique (X09), France.
Research Interests: Atmospheric dynamics, water cycle, climate extremes, climate change.

Helen Fitzmaurice
Jesse Hahmwjhahm@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Bill Dietrich
Research Interests: Geomorphology, Hydrology, Ecology
Website: http://jessehahm.github.io

William B. Hawleywhawley@seismo.berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen
Education: BA 2012 (Physics, Astrophysics) Harvard University
Research Interests: Seismology, subduction zones, geodynamics

Jinsol Kimssori1508@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor:  Ron Cohen

Education: BS 2013 (Energy Resources Engineering), Seoul National University; MS 2015 (Energy Resources Engineering), Seoul National University

Research Interest: Atmospheric Chemistry
Nicholas R Knezeknknezek@berkeley.edu411 McCone 940-230-5194

Advisor: Bruce Buffet
Education: BA 2012 (Physics, Engineering) Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Magnetohydrodynamics,
Planetary magnetic field generation,
Dynamo theory,
Planetary magnetic field interaction with the solar wind.

Qingkai Kongkongqk@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen
Education: Bachelor's 2006 (Civil Engineering) Guangxi University. Master's 2010 (Structural Engineering) Tongji University, Shanghai.
Research Interest: Earthquake Early Warning
http://seismo.berkeley.edu/qingkaikong/

Dana Lapidesdana_lapides@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  David Romps

BS 2015 (Math), Lafayette College

Research Interests:  Climate change, clouds, atmostpheric dynamics

Tanis Leonharditcleonhardi@berkeley.edu411 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga

Education: BS 2015 (Geology and Geophysics, Mathematics minor), University of Hawaii at Manoa
 
Research Interests: volcano science, materials physics, condensed matter physics, spectroscopy, economic geology, petrology
 
Yuexin Liyuexinli@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Education: BS 2017 (Geophysics), Peking University
Research Interests: Earthquake Physics, Crustal deformation

Nate Lindsey179 McCone

Advisors:  Michael Manga, Doug Dreger
Education: BS 2010 (Alternative Energy & Sustainable Engineering), University of Rochester; MSc 2012 (Geophysics), University of Edinburgh
Research Interests: geophysical imaging, fiber optic sensors, geothermal systems, cryosphere

 
Jiabin Liujiabin@berkeley.edu301 McCone

atmospheric dynamics
Adviser: Inez Fung
Education: BS 2014(Applied Physics) California Institute of Technology
Research Interest: atmospheric dynamics

Xueling Liuliuxl08@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Ronald Cohen
Education: BS 2012 (Environmental Engineering)
Tsinghua University
Research interest: Atmospheric chemistry.

Patcharaporn Maneeratpmaneera31@berkeley.edu179 McCone Hall

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Research Interests: Structural Geology and Active Tectonics
Education: BA 2017 Pitzer College - Majored Geology at Pomona College

Robert Martin-Shortrmartin-short@berkeley.edu225 McCone5106465606
 Subduction dynamics; teleseismic tomography of Alaska; mantle flow modeling

Advisors: Richard Allen, Mark Richards
 
Education: MSci Geophysics, Imperial College London, UK
Kathryn Maternakmaterna@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Education: BS 2014 (EAPS, Physics) MIT
Research Interests: Active tectonics, GPS

Ari-Melinger Cohenazm892@berkeley.edu175 McCone
Advisor Raymond Jeanloz
Education:  B.A. 2014 (Earth and Planetary Science and Environmental Science), Northwestern University
Research interests: Mineral Physics and Planetary Interiors
 
Runze Miaomiaorunze2011@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor:  Bill Dietrich

Education: MS 2016 Georgia Institute of Technology

Research Interests:  Geomorphology, Meandering River, Sediment Transport

Elizabeth H Mitnickemitnick@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: Don DePaolo
Education: BA 2013 Washington University in St. Louis, Environmental Earth Sciences

Research Interests:
Geochemistry in porous media
Stable isotope geochemistry
Reactive transport modeling
Biogeochemical cycling

Research Site: https://sites.google.com/site/elizabethmitnick/

Tushar Mittaltmittal2@berkeley.eduMcCone 181

Planet Formation, Protoplanetary Disk Dynamics and Magma Physics.
Adviser : Mark Richards

Chris Moeckelchris.moeckel@berkeley.edu173

Atmospheric Science, Space Exploration, Instrument Development

Elizabeth M. Niespoloeniespolo@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Paul Renne
Education: MS 2014 (Geology), California State University, Long Beach; BA 2009 (Astrophysics and Classics), University of California, Berkeley
Research Interests: Geochronology, Isotope Geochemistry, Geoarchaeology, Paleoclimatology
https://sites.google.com/site/eniespolo/home

Yuem Parkyuempark@berkeley.edu355 McCone

Advisor:  Nick Swanson-Hysell

Education: AB 2015 (Geosciences) Princeton University

Research Interests: Stratigraphy, Paleoclimate, Stable Isotope Geochemistry

 
Sarina Patelsarina.patel@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen

Education: B.A. 2015 (Geology) Middlebury College

Research Interests: Seismology and Earthquake Hazards 

Noah G. Randolph-Flaggnrflagg@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: BA 2011 (Geology) Carleton College
Research Interests: hydrothermal systems, flood basalts, exposure dating, tectonics
http://seismo.berkeley.edu/~nrflagg

Alex Robsona.robson@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Seth Saltielseth_saltiel@berkeley.edu183 McCone

Advisor: Bruce Buffett
Education: BA 2010 (Physics) University of California, Berkeley
Research Interest: geological fluid mechanics

Jacob Seeleyjseeley@berkeley.edu449 McCone Hall

Advisor: David Romps
Research Interest: Atmospheric dynamics, clouds, climate change

Allison Sharrarasharrar@berkeley.edu413 McCone

Advisor:  Jill Banfield

Education: BS, 2015 (Earth and Environmental Science) University of Michigan

Research Interests: Environmental Microbiology, Biogeochemistry
Thomas J. Smarttsmart@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Raymond Jeanloz
Research Interest: High Pressure Mineral Physics

Joshua Tollefsonjtollefs@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Imke dePater
Research interests: Simulations of planetary interiors

Andrew Turneracturner@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisors: Daniel Stolper and David Shuster

Education: BS 2017 (Chemistry) University of Florida

Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Earth History, Paleoclimatology

Panod Viseshchitrapanodvis@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  Rudy Wenk

Education:  BS 2009 (Chemistry), Chulalongkorn University.

Research interests:  Microstructures in construction materials, synchrotron X-ray techniques

Chelsea Willettcwillett@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: David Shuster
Education: BS 2011 (Geology and Geophysics) Yale University
Research Interests: Low-temperature thermochronology, helium diffusion kinetics, landscape evolution

Katie Wooddell201 McCone

Advisor:  Doug Dreger

Research Interests:  Seismic source studies, scaling, seismic hazard analysis

Jizhou Wuwjz8597@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Research Interests:High-pressure experiments by Diamond Anvil Cell;Condensed Matter Physics;Quantum simulation and density functional theory under high-pressure envinronment

Stephanie M. Wuerthswuerth@berkeley.edu301 McCone Hall

Advisor: Inez Fung
Education: BS 2011 (Geochemistry and English) California Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Carbon cycle dynamics, greenhouse gas emissions verification, data assimilation
www.stephaniewuerth.com

Qindan Zhu