Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Geophysics

Graduate Students

Name / Contact Advisor / Education / Research
Sevan Adouriansevan.adourian@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor: Barbara Romanowicz

Education: MSci Geophysics (2017), Université Paris 7/École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France

Research Interests: Computational seismology, regional and global seismic tomography, seismic wave propagation, inverse problem

Manar Al Asadm.alasad@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Harriet Lau

Core and Mantle convection, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics, Planetary Evolution, Comparative Planetology 

Basem Al-Shayebbasem@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Jill Banfield, Jennifer Doudna

Madison Alcalaymadison.alcalay@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Bethanie Edwards

Education: B.A. Marine Science, B.S. Molecular Environmental Biology (2021), UC Berkeley

Research Interests: Climate Change and Marine Conservation

 

Naomi Asimownasimow@berkeley.eduHildebrand B47

Urban air quality and CO2 source attribution

Advisor: Ronald Cohen

 

Alexander Brykbryk@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Bill Dietrich
Research Interests: Geomorphology and Sedimentary Geology

Tyler Cadenatcadena@berkeley.edu269B McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga

Education: B.S. Geological Sciences: General Geology, University of Texas at Austin

Research Interests: Volcanology, storage and eruptive processes

Chen Li Weiliwei_chen@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Education: MS 2014 (Geoscience) National Taiwan University; BSc 2012 (Earth Science) National Central University.
Research interests: Global seismology, tomography, ambient noise  

 

Rodrigo Chirodrigo.chi@berkeley.edu179 McCone Hall

Advisor: Bruce Buffett

Education: B.S. (2014), Electrical engineering, Universidad de Chile 

Research Interests: Geomagnetism, Tectonics

Website: https://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~rchi/

Yu-Hsiang Chienyhchien@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Don DePaolo

Allie Cooninallie_coonin@berkeley.edu173 McCone

Advisor: Harriet Lau

Prajna Paramita Dasprajnapdas@berkeley.edu173 McCone

Advisor: Bruce Buffett

William Daviswilliamjsdavis@berkeley.edu169 McCone Hall

Advisor: Bruce Buffett
Education: MSci. (2017), Geophysics, University College London
Research Interests: 

Website: posgeo.wordpress.com

Kyla de Villakyla.devilla@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Burkhard Militzer

Julia DeMarines

Advisor: Imke de Pater

  • Assessing the Earth's technosignature and biosignature
  • The ethical issues involved in sending intentional messages with the intent to contact ET
Michelle Devoemdevoe@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Hans-Rudolf Wenk

Education: B.S. Bates College

Research Interests: Mineralogy and mineral physics, large-scale earth processes

Rustin Domingos

Advisor: Burkhard Militzer

Claire Doodyclaired@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Adviser: Richard Allen

Education: B.S., Geophysical Sciences and B.A., East Asian Languages and Civilizations (2018), University of Chicago

Research Interests: Seismic Tomography, Subduction Zone Dynamics

Helen Fitzmauricehfitzmaurice@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Ronald Cohen

Education: B.S. Physics (2010) Harvey Mudd College, M.A.T. (2012) Tufts University

Research Interest: Atmospheric Chemistry

Anthony Fuentesanthony.j.fuentes@berkeley.edu169

Advisors: Nicholas Swanson-Hysell and Paul Renne

Education: MS 2019 (Geology) University of New Hampshire; BS (2016) UC Santa Barbara

Research Interests: Paleomagnetism, Geochronology, Mass Extinctions and Recovery

 

Tatiana Gamez181 McCone

Advisor: Bethanie Edwards

Research Interests: Metabolomics, harmful algal blooms, coastal monitoring/risk assessment, heavy metal biogeochemistry

Andrew Gorinandrew_gorin@berkeley.edu

Advisor: David Shuster

Research Interests: Applications of cosmogenic nuclides, the cryosphere, paleoclimate, low-temperature thermochronology

Yuancong Gouyuancong_gou@berkeley.edu

Advisor:  Richard Allen

Education:  B.S. 2020 (Geophysics) Nanjing University

Research interest:  Seismology

Charles Goullaudgoullaud@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Imke de Pater

Caroline Haslercaroline_hasler@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Paul Renne

Zhenyu Hezhenyuhe@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: David Romps

Jiwoon Hwangjiwoon.hwang@berkeley.edu269C McCone

Advisor: Bethanie Edwards

Alexander Jaffealexander_jaffe@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Jill Banfield

Education:

Research Interests:

Tanja Kovacevictanja_kovacevic@berkeley.edu269C McCone Hall

Planetary interiors, planetary formation, ab initio molecular dynamics, density functional theory simulations. 

Advisor: Burkhard Militzer

Katie Latimerklatimer@berkeley.edu

Advisor: David Romps

Isis Lemusilemus@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Roland Bürgmann

Langlang Li

Advisors: Jillian Banfield and Benjamin Gilbert

Yuexin Liyuexinli@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Earthquake Physics, Crustal deformation

Advisor: Roland Bürgmann

Education: BS 2017 (Geophysics), Peking University

Danielle Lindsaydanielle.lindsay@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Roland Bürgmann

Education: BSc (Geology) and MSc (Geophysics) from Victoria Univeristy of Wellington, New Zealand

Research Interests: Active tectonics, Geodesy, Slow Earthquakes

Yi-Chuan Luyclu@berkeley.edu

Advisor: David Romps

Ankur Mahesh

Advisor: William Collins

Savvas Marcousavvas.marcou@berkeley.edu181 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen

Melissa Marquettemelissamarquette@berkeley.edu173 McCone

Advisors: Imke dePater and Michael Manga

Runze Miaomiaorunze2011@berkeley.edu

Advisor: William Dietrich

Chris Moeckelchris.moeckel@berkeley.eduCampbell Hall 605N

Advisor: Imke de Pater

Atmospheric Science, Space Exploration, Instrument Development

Susan Mullenssmullen@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Jill Banfield

Education: Massachusetts Institute of Technology 2018 B.S. Biology

 Research Interests: metagenomics, geomicrobiology

 

Murti Nauthmurtinauth@berkeley.edu

planetary magnetospheres, evolution, atmospheres, spacecraft data 

Advisor: Imke de Pater

Quentin Nicolasqnicolas@berkeley.edu183 McCone

Advisor: William Boos

Education: MS Applied Mathematics, 2019, Ecole Polytechnique, France

Research interests: Climate dynamics, Atmospheric convection, Orographic precipitation, Geodynamo

Sarina Patelsarina.patel@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen

Education: B.A. 2015 (Geology) Middlebury College

Research Interests: Seismology and earthquake hazards, Structural Health Monitoring, Seismicity-Volcano interactions, Applications for seismic data collected by smartphones (the MyShake project)

Junfeng Qinjfqin@berkeley.edu181 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga

Erin Redwingeredwing@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Imke de Pater

Education: BS in Geosciences (2018) - The Pennsylvania State University

Research interests: Planetary science, astrobiology

Mara Reedmhreed@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga

Constraints on geyser eruption behaviour, hydrothermal systems broadly defined, and community science as an avenue for public engagement and better research.

Education: B.S. in Physics, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (2018)

Orlando Romeooromeo@berkeley.eduEPS355

Solar/Plasma Physics, Planetary Magnetic Fields, Atmospheric Science, Geophysics

Advisor: Michael Manga

Zachary Smithzachary_smith@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Michael Manga

Daniel Spearsspears.dp@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Raymond Jeanloz

Education: B.S Chemistry, B.S Environmental Studies and Sustainability, Michigan State University

Research Interests: To study the behaviors of Synthetic Uranus up to 50 Gpa and at varying temperatures. The goal is for this information to benefit the ongoing research of Ice Giants and concuring shock experiments. 

Nathaniel Tarshish

Advisor: David Romps

Andrew Tholt

Advisor: Paul Renne

Research Interests: Geochronology, Paleomagnetism

Andrew Turneracturner@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisors: Daniel Stolper and David Shuster

Education: BS 2017 (Chemistry) University of Florida

Research Interests: Isotope Geochemistry, Earth History, Thermochronometry, Methodology

Mercedes Vasquezmmvasquez@berkeley.eduMcCone 255

High Pressure Physics; Planetary Interiors; Planetary Formation 

 

Ziman Wuziman.wu@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisors:  Don DePaolo and Daniel Stolper

Education:  B.S. 2020 (Geology) Nanjing University

Jizhou Wuwjz8597@berkeley.edu355 McCone

Advisors: Burkhard Militzer

Education: BS(2017),Condensed Matter Physics,University of Science and Technology of China 

Research Interests: High-pressure experiments by Diamond Anvil Cell;Condensed Matter Physics;Density functional theory+Molecular Dynamics,PIMC;Melting Curve of Planetary Material;Formation of Planet 

Yiming Zhangyimingzhang@berkeley.edu355

Advisor: Nick Swanson-Hysell

Education: BA. Occidental College (Geology)

Research interests: Paleomagnetism, rock magnetism, magnetic imaging, paleogeography, paleointensity

Yishu Zhusarahings@berkeley.eduB70A Hildebrand

Air quality and climate modelling in the urban area

Advisor: Ronald Cohen