Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Planetary Science

Graduate Students

Name / Contact Advisor / Education / Research
Michael Ariel Antonellimantonelli@berkeley.edu181 McCone

Advisor: Don DePaolo
Education: MS 2013 (Geology) U of Maryland; BSc 2011 (Honors Geology) U of Alberta.
Research Interests: Stable isotope geochemistry, Earth-system science, hydrothermal processes, petrology.

Tyler J. Arbourtyler.arbour@berkeley.edu255 McCone twitter: @tylerjarbour

Advisor: Jill Banfield
Education: BS 2008 (Chemistry) Montana State University - Bozeman; DAAD Fellow 2008/2009 (Biophysics) University of Goettingen, Germany
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry with focus on iron-reducing bacteria and biomineralization

Hannah Louise Bournehbourne@berkeley.edu413 McCone

Advisor:  Jim Bishop

Education:  BA 2011 (Earth and Environmental Sciences) Wesleyan University

Research interest:  Marine carbon and trace metal cycles

Sierra Boyd

Advisor:  Douglas Dreger

Research interest: seismic source physics

Stephen Breenbreen@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: BS (Physics) University of California, Irvine, BA (Economics) University of California, Santa Cruz, MS (Civil Engineering: Hydrology) University of California, Irvine.
Research Interest: Multiphase flow in porous media

Alexander Brykbryk@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor: Bill Dietrich
Research Interests: Geomorphology and Sedimentary Geology

Alex Charnalexcharn5@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Bill Collins
Education: B.S. (2015), Environmental Engineering Science, UC Berkeley
Research Interests: Climate science/modeling, clouds, atmospheric dynamics

Li-Wei Chenliwei_chen@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Education: MS 2014 (Geoscience) National Taiwan University; BSc 2012 (Earth Science) National Central University.
Research interests: Global seismology, tomography, ambient noise  

 

Cheng Chengcchengster@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen
Education: Bachelor's 2008, University of Science and Technology of China; Master's 2011, Institution of Geology and Geophysics, Chinese Academy of Science
Research Interest: Seismic tomography of the deep earth structure

Robert Citronricitron@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor:  Michael Manga

Research interest:  Planetary geodynamics, Mars

Anna Clingeraeclinger@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisors:  Don DePaolo and David Shuster

Education:  BS 2015 (Honors) (Earth and Environmental Sciences) University of Michigan; MS 2016 (Earth and Environmental Sciences) University of Michigan

Research interests:  Isotope geochemistry, earth surface processes, the cryosphere

Octavia V. Cromptonoctavia@berkeley.edu301 McCone Hall
Brent G. Delbridgedelbridge@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Education: BS (Applied Math and Physics) University of Washington
Research interest: Seismology, Subduction Zone Dynamics, Active Tectonics

Matthew R Diamondmrdiamond@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Raymond Jeanloz
Education: BS 2013 (Geochemistry) California Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Mineral physics, Planetary interiors, Metallization of salts under high pressure

Jacob P. Edmanjedman@berkeley.edu449 McCone

Advisor: David Romps
Education: BS 2011 (Physics, Earth & Environmental Science) University of California, Irvine
Research interests: Atmospheric dynamics, Clouds, Climate change
http://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~jedman/

Luke Fairchildlfairchild@berkeley.edu355 McCone

Advisor:  Nick Swanson-Hysell

Education:  BA 2015 (Geology), Carleton College

Research interests: Paleomagnetism, true polar wander, impact cratering, geodynamics

Kristen Fauriakfauria@berkeley.edu183 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: MS 2013 (Civil and Environmental Engineering) University of California, Davis; BS 2010 (Geology, Mathematics) University of Oregon
Research interests: Geological fluid mechanics, Particle driven density currents, Multiphase flows, Geomorphology
https://sites.google.com/site/kristenfauria/

Isabel Fendleyisabel.fendley@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor:  Paul Renne

Benjamin Fildierbenjamin.fildier@berkeley.edu449 McCone (510)356-8626

Advisor: Bill Collins.
Education: MS 2013 (Environmental Engineering), UC Berkeley; Ecole polytechnique (X09), France.
Research Interests: Atmospheric dynamics, water cycle, climate extremes, climate change.

Heidi Fuquaheidi.fuqua@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Imke dePater
Education: BS (Aerospace Engineering) USC, BS (Physical Science) Biola University, MS (Space Studies) International Space University.
Research interest: planetary interiors, formation, lunar science

Jesse Hahmwjhahm@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Bill Dietrich
Research Interests: Geomorphology, Hydrology, Ecology
Website: http://jessehahm.github.io

William B. Hawleywhawley@seismo.berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen
Education: BA 2012 (Physics, Astrophysics) Harvard University
Research Interests: Seismology, subduction zones, geodynamics

Naomi Intratornaomi_intrator@berkeley.edu175 McCone
Advisor: Daniel Stolper
Education: BS (Joint honours) 2015, Geology and Biology, University of St Andrews
Research interests: aquatic geobiology and geochemistry, biogeochemical processes and cycling
Christopher Johnsonc.w.johnson@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Education: BS Georgia Institute of Technology (EAS, Geophysics)
Research interest: Active Tectonics, Rheology, and Seismology
http://seismo.berkeley.edu/~cwj

Jinsol Kimssori1508@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor:  Ron Cohen

Education: BS 2013 (Energy Resources Engineering), Seoul National University; MS 2015 (Energy Resources Engineering), Seoul National University

Research Interest: Atmospheric Chemistry
Nicholas R Knezeknknezek@berkeley.edu411 McCone 940-230-5194

Advisor: Bruce Buffet
Education: BA 2012 (Physics, Engineering) Dartmouth College
Research Interests: Magnetohydrodynamics,
Planetary magnetic field generation,
Dynamo theory,
Planetary magnetic field interaction with the solar wind.

Qingkai Kongkongqk@berkeley.edu289 McCone

Advisor: Richard Allen
Education: Bachelor's 2006 (Civil Engineering) Guangxi University. Master's 2010 (Structural Engineering) Tongji University, Shanghai.
Research Interest: Earthquake Early Warning
http://seismo.berkeley.edu/qingkaikong/

Dana Lapidesdana_lapides@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  David Romps

BS 2015 (Math), Lafayette College

Research Interests:  Climate change, clouds, atmostpheric dynamics

Tanis Leonharditcleonhardi@berkeley.edu411 McCone

Advisors:  Michael Manga (main advisor), Burkhard Militzer (2nd advisor)

Education: BS 2015 (Geology and Geophysics, Math minor), University of Hawaii at Manoa
 
Research Interests:  volcano science, multi-scale and multi-phase physics, materials science, petrology, planetary interiors, mathematical representation
 
Nate Lindsey179 McCone

Advisors:  Michael Manga, Doug Dreger
Education: BS 2010 (Alternative Energy & Sustainable Engineering), University of Rochester; MSc 2012 (Geophysics), University of Edinburgh
Research Interests: geophysical imaging, fiber optic sensors, geothermal systems, cryosphere

 
Xueling Liuliuxl08@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Ronald Cohen
Education: BS 2012 (Environmental Engineering)
Tsinghua University
Research interest: Atmospheric chemistry.

Jiabin Liujiabin@berkeley.edu301 McCone

Adviser: Inez Fung
Education: BS 2014(Applied Physics) California Institute of Technology
Research Interest: large-scale atmospheric dynamics

Robert Martin-Shortrmartin-short@berkeley.edu225 McCone5106465606
 Subduction dynamics; teleseismic tomography of Alaska; mantle flow modeling

Advisors: Richard Allen, Mark Richards
 
Education: MSci Geophysics, Imperial College London, UK
Kathryn Maternakmaterna@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisor: Roland Burgmann
Education: BS 2014 (EAPS, Physics) MIT
Research Interests: Active tectonics, GPS

Ari-Melinger Cohenazm892@berkeley.edu175 McCone
Advisor Raymond Jeanloz
Education:  B.A. 2014 (Earth and Planetary Science and Environmental Science), Northwestern University
Research interests: Mineral Physics and Planetary Interiors
 
Runze Miaomiaorunze2011@berkeley.edu175 McCone

Advisor:  Bill Dietrich

Education:  MS 2014 Tsinghua University, MS 2016 Georgia Institute of Technology

Research Interests:  Geomorphology, river systems, sediment transport

Elizabeth H Mitnickemitnick@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: Don DePaolo
Education: BA 2013 Washington University in St. Louis, Environmental Earth Sciences

Research Interests:
Geochemistry in porous media
Stable isotope geochemistry
Reactive transport modeling
Biogeochemical cycling

Research Site: https://sites.google.com/site/elizabethmitnick/

Tushar Mittaltmittal2@berkeley.eduMcCone 181

Planet Formation, Protoplanetary Disk Dynamics and Magma Physics.
Adviser : Mark Richards

Carolina P. Munozcarolimunoz@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: BS (Geology) University of Chile, Santiago, Chile, MS (Geology) University of Chile, Santiago, Chile, MS (Earth and Planetary Sciences) University of California, Berkeley, USA
Research Interest: Eruptive dynamics of geysers systems

Avinash Nayakavinashguddu07@berkeley.edu225 McCone

https://youtu.be/9ZnxpEpjD0k?t=2m48s

Elizabeth M. Niespoloeniespolo@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Paul Renne
Education: MS 2014 (Geology), California State University, Long Beach; BA 2009 (Astrophysics and Classics), University of California, Berkeley
Research Interests: Geochronology, Isotope Geochemistry, Geoarchaeology, Paleoclimatology
https://sites.google.com/site/eniespolo/home

Felipe Orellanaf_orellana@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Mark Richards
Education: Bachelor in Science, Geophysics (2004). Master in Science, Geophysics (2006)
Research interests: Lithospheric dynamics: Lower crustal flow, subduction process.

Yuem Parkyuempark@berkeley.edu355 McCone

Advisor:  Nick Swanson-Hysell

Education: AB 2015 (Geosciences) Princeton University

Research Interests: Stratigraphy, Paleoclimate, Stable Isotope Geochemistry

 
Noah G. Randolph-Flaggnrflagg@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: Michael Manga
Education: BA 2011 (Geology) Carleton College
Research Interests: hydrothermal systems, flood basalts, exposure dating, tectonics
http://seismo.berkeley.edu/~nrflagg

Alex Robsona.robson@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Seth Saltielseth_saltiel@berkeley.edu183 McCone

Advisor: Bruce Buffett
Education: BA 2010 (Physics) University of California, Berkeley
Research Interest: geological fluid mechanics

Jacob Seeleyjseeley@berkeley.edu449 McCone Hall

Advisor: David Romps
Research Interest: Atmospheric dynamics, clouds, climate change

Allison Sharrarasharrar@berkeley.edu413 McCone

Advisor:  Jill Banfield

Education: BS, 2015 (Earth and Environmental Science) University of Michigan

Research Interests: Environmental Microbiology, Biogeochemistry
Thomas J. Smarttsmart@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Advisor: Raymond Jeanloz
Research Interest: High Pressure Mineral Physics

Courtney J. Sprainspra0111@berkeley.edu411 McCone

Adviser: Paul Renne
Education: BS Geology (2012) and BS Geophysics (2012) : University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Research Interest: Geochronology and paleomagnetism

Joshua Tollefsonjtollefs@berkeley.edu269 McCone

Advisor: Imke dePater
Research interests: Simulations of planetary interiors

Marissa Tremblaymtremblay@berkeley.edu413 McCone

Advisor: David Shuster
Education: BA 2012 (Environmental Science) Barnard College of Columbia University
Research Interests: Low-temperature thermochronometry and cosmogenic nuclide geochemistry.
https://sites.google.com/site/marissamtremblay/

Panod Viseshchitrapanodvis@berkeley.edu179 McCone

Advisor:  Rudy Wenk

Education:  BS 2009 (Chemistry), Chulalongkorn University.

Research interests:  Microstructures in construction materials, synchrotron X-ray techniques

Sean Wahlswahl@berkeley.edu411 McCone

Advisor: Burkhard Militzer
Education: Bachelors of Science (MIT)
Research interest: Planetary interiors and mineral physics.

Julie Wang307 McCone
Chelsea Willettcwillett@berkeley.edu169 McCone

Advisor: David Shuster
Education: BS 2011 (Geology and Geophysics) Yale University
Research Interests: Low-temperature thermochronology, helium diffusion kinetics, landscape evolution

Katie Wooddell201 McCone

Advisor:  Doug Dreger

Research Interests:  Seismic source studies, scaling, seismic hazard analysis

Stephanie M. Wuerthswuerth@berkeley.edu301 McCone Hall

Advisor: Inez Fung
Education: BS 2011 (Geochemistry and English) California Institute of Technology
Research Interests: Carbon cycle dynamics, greenhouse gas emissions verification, data assimilation
www.stephaniewuerth.com

Eloisa Zepeda-Alarconeloisa@berkeley.edu255 McCone

Exploring deformation mechanisms of polycrystalline aggregates at high pressure and temperatures. High pressure and temperature synchrotron experiments.