Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Atmosphere, Oceans, and Climate

Post-Docs

Name / Contact Host / Education / Research
Alyssa Abbeyalabbey@berkeley.edu
Tadesse Alemutadesse.alemu@berkeley.edu307 McCone Hall

Host: David Shuster and Nicholas Swanson-Hysell 

I am the UC President's postdoctoral fellow. I did my PhD at Oklahoma State University where I used field sedimentologic and structural, and remote sensing techniques to constrain the geodynamic evolution of an exhumed IntraCONtinental Sag (ICONS) basin.

Currently, I am doing a (U-Th)/He dating combined with paleomagnetic constraints to provide the necessary data for the testing of mechanisms for large scale exhumation following Neoproterozoic collisional orogenesis in the Arabian-Nubian Shield. Particularly, we are interested whether the extensive exhumation is related to Late Ordovician glaciation.

I am also interested in continental rifting and morphotectonics particularly in the East African Rift System.

Lin-Xing Chenlinxingchen@berkeley.edu

I am interested in using meta-omics to reveal the in situ activities of microorganisms and phages (viruses that infecting Bacteria and Archaea) in natural and human-related microbiomes.

Daniel Eldridgedanieleldridge@berkeley.eduMcCone 485

Stable Isotope Geochemistry

Anton Ermakoveai@berkeley.eduMcCone 485

Host: Burkhard Militzer

I am interested in the formation and evolution of the Solar System bodies and the ways we can constrain planetary interiors by geophysical measurements.

Daniel Frostdafrost@berkeley.edu215 McCone Hall6028107064

deep Earth structure, mantle heterogeneity across scales, inner core anisotropy, outer core stratification, composition and chemistry of Earth materials, array methodology, Earth evolution.

Felipe Javier Gonzalez Cataldof_gonzalez@berkeley.edu485 McCone Hall

Host: Burkhard Militzer

Research Interests: Planetary interiors; high pressure physics; first-principles computer simulations techniques; molecular dynamics; equations of state.

Personal website:  http://www.gnm.cl/fgonzalez

Tomas Hesslertomas.hessler@berkeley.edu
Eben Hodginebenblake@berkeley.edu
Daniel Ibarradibarra@berkeley.edu485 McCone

Hosts: Daniel Stolper and Don DePaolo

I am a geochemist and climate scientist working on the water and carbon cycles in terrestrial environments. My work includes studying the response of past and present terrestrial landscapes to changes in climate using modeling approaches, geochemical measurements, and field observations. Broadly, I am interested in the role that Earth's continents play in modulating habitable surface conditions over geologic time and in using sediments to reconstruct past changes in weathering and hydrologic fluxes over Plio-Pleistocene to Phanerozoic timescales.

Personal Website

Andreja Kustandreja.kust@berkeley.edu
Diogo Louro Lourencodlourenco@berkeley.edu
Pierre Maffremaffre@berkeley.edu
Federico Munchfmunch@berkeley.edu215 McCone Hall

Host: Prof. Barbara Romanowicz

Research interests:

- Probabilistic inverse methods
- Upper mantle and transition zone thermo-chemical structure
- Seismology
- Deep electromagnetic studies
- Mineral physics
- Mantle water content

Jeff Prancevicjeef@berkeley.edu
baptiste roussetrousset@berkeley.edu201 McCone Hall

Host: Roland Bürgmann

I am interested in geodetic observations (GPS and InSAR) to characterize the crustal deformation around subduction zones and large strike slip faults. I mainly focus on aseismic transient processes such as slow slip events and postseismic relaxation. webpage

Vishnu Sasidharan Nairvishnus@berkeley.edu391 McCone Hall

Host: Prof. William Boos

 

My research focuses on climate variability of monsoons and tropical storms. Investigating the interaction of tropical synoptic-scale systems and large scale ocean-atmospheric coupled systems is the general goal of my research.

 

Hyunjin Shimjinenstar@gmail.com

Environmental metagenomics, CRISPR technology, Machine Learning

Rebekah Steinrestein@berkeley.edu

Host: Prof. Daniel Stolper

Research Interests: Terrestrial biogeochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Climate Change

Sean Wahlswahl@berkeley.edu407 McCone

Host: Burkhard Militzer

Planetary interiors and evolution. Simulation of planetary materials at extreme conditions. Gravity field and tidal response of giant planets.

Kang Wangkwang@seismo.berkeley.edu