Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Near-Surface Geochemistry and Geobiology

Seminars

Date/Time Speaker Description Location
Thu, Jan 24, 2019, 4:00pm
Lizzie Dingle
Simon Fraser
From mountains to meanders: sediment dynamics in the Himalayan foreland basin McCone 141
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 4:00pm
Laura Waters
Sonoma State
Why obsidians erupt and aplites freeze: Controls on eruptions of high-SiO2 (eutectic) melts McCone 141
Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 4:00pm
Eugene Chiang
UC Berkeley
Joint Astro/CIPS/EPS: Planet Formation Post-Kepler 1 LeConte
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 4:00pm
Raymond Jeanloz
UC Berkeley
Energy scaling for impacts, and the missing link in planet formation 141 McCone
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 4:00pm
Allison Steiner
U Michigan
Joint with BASC: The Atmospheric Life Cycle of Pollen 141 McCone
Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 4:00pm
Joshua Tollefson
UC Berkeley
Exit Seminar: Unraveling Neptune's Atmospheric Structure with Multi-Wavelength Observations 141 McCone
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 4:00pm
Anne Socquet
ISTerre
Visiting Miller: Characterizing the long-term preparation of megathrust earthquakes 141 McCone
Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 4:00pm
Stephan Fueglistaler
Princeton
Visiting Miller: Atmospheric hot spots, cold tropical oceans, atmospheric bridges and climate sensitivity: a simple mechanistic model of the tropics 141 McCone
Thu, Mar 21, 2019, 4:00pm
Vikki Meadows
U Washington
Joint Astro/CIPS/EPS: The Search for Life beyond the Solar System 1 LeConte
Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 4:00pm
Spring Break
No Seminar No Seminar
Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 4:00pm
Inez Fung
UC Berkeley
BASC Symposium Keynote: Water in Motion: Mysteries from Northern California 141 McCone
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 4:00pm
Paul Segall
Stanford
The 2018 Kilauea Rift Zone Eruption and Caldera Collapse: Why inflation during explosions? 141 McCone
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 4:00pm
Emmy Smith
Johns Hopkins
New perspectives on the Ediacaran-Cambrian boundary in the Southwest United States 141 McCone
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 4:00pm
Elizabeth Niespolo
UC Berkeley
Exit Seminar: Timing, tempo, and paleoenvironments of Quaternary hominid evolution, adaptation, and geographic range expansion 141 McCone
Thu, May 2, 2019, 4:00pm
William Hawley
UC Berkeley
Exit Seminar: The life and death of a tectonic plate: imaging the Juan de Fuca plate with amphibious seismic data 141 McCone