Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Geophysics

Make A Gift

We deeply appreciate your generosity to the Department of Earth & Planetary Science. Your gift can improve facilities, create and support academic opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students, and enhance our research efforts.

Donate Online Here >>

In addition to donating online, contributions can be mailed to the department. Checks should be made out to "UC Berkeley Foundation" and addressed to Veronica Padilla, Department of Earth & Planetary Science, 307 McCone Hall, University of California, Berkeley, CA, 94720-4767.

You may choose to contribute to one of eleven established Department funds, if you do not designate a fund in the comment box, your donation will go to the Friends of Earth Science Fund.  Your support is invaluable to us.

Earth Science Scholarship Fund
Established in 1980 to provide scholarships to graduate students studying Earth Science.

Friends of Earth and Planetary Science Fund
Established to solicit funds for emergency student aid, collegial activities in support of education and research as well as equipment and facilities upgrades; to help with costs for student activities such as field trips and the yearly Santa Barbara's Day event; to make a monetary award to the winner of the Departmental Citation; to alumni outreach; to defray the costs of the weekly departmental Speaker's Program in which distinguished speakers from around the country are invited; and to assist in the acquisition of journals for the Earth Sciences Library and Map Collection.

Memorial Funds

  • Perry Byerly Fellowship Fund
    Established in 1978 to honor the memory of Perry Byerly with a graduate fellowship in seismology.

  • The George D. Louderback Fund
    The Fund is an endowment in honor of George Louderback established in 1957, To award outstanding students who are pursuing research, particularly in the field, in geology and paleontology. To donate to the Fund, please use the link above.

  • Tom McEvilly Graduate Student Fellowship
    Established in 2002 to honor Professor Tom McEvilly with a graduate fellowship in seismology.

  • Charles Meyer Fellowship Fund
    Established in 1980 to honor Professor Charles Meyer by awarding a graduate fellowship in the area of integrated field and laboratory studies of ore, mineral, and rock-forming processes.

  • Ralph Netwon Emergency Fund
    Established in 1994 in memory of Ralph Newton to provide emergency funds to graduate students.

  • Milton B. Smith Memorial Fund
    Established in 2002 in honor of Professor Clyde Wahrhaftig by the estate of Dr. Milton B. Smith, BA 1935, Geology. The fund provides financial assistance to needy undergraduate students.

  • Harlan Tod Sutherland Memorial Scholarship Fund
    Established in 1987 in memory of undergraduate student, Harland Tod Sutherland, killed doing field research. Funds to support undergraduate or graduate student.

  • Don Tocher Memorial Fellowship Fund
    Established in 1979 to honor the memory of Don Tocher with a graduate fellowship in seismology.

  • Francis Turner Fellowship Fund
    Established in 1986 to honor the memory of Professor Francis Turner with a graduate fellowship in geology.