Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Geology and Surface Processes

News and Awards

Nov 26, 2014
Wendy Schmidt, co-founder of the Schmidt Ocean Institute, recently spoke to Professor Jim Bishop's EPS 'Oceans' course. For more on her talk, this link is to an article from the Berkeley Newscenter... [Read more]
Nov 25, 2014
The American Association for the Advancement of Science has named William Collins, of our faculty, an AAAS fellow. This honor recognizes distinguished efforts in the scientific and social... [Read more]
Nov 24, 2014
Please join us on Tuesday, May 19, 2015 for our department commencement exercises. The ceremony will be held in the Zellerbach Playhouse (which is behind Zellerbach Hall, opposite the Alumni House... [Read more]
Nov 4, 2014
For the past nine years, the Chancellor's Award for Advancing Institutional Excellence (CAAIE) has been presented to UC Berkeley faculty who have an extraordinary record of accomplishment in... [Read more]
Aug 26, 2014
Since the recent South Napa earthquake, the Berkeley Seismological Laboratory's earthquake early warning system has received a lot of media attention. On August 25 it was even mentioned on The... [Read more]
Aug 1, 2014
Congratulations to Paul Renne as a newly elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union. This honor may be bestowed on only 0.1% of the membership in any given year. A complete list of the class of... [Read more]
Jul 3, 2014
Three faculty will receive awards at the 2014 Fall AGU Meeting in San Francisco. Don DePaolo will receive the Hess Medal for "outstanding achievements in research on the constitution and evolution of... [Read more]
May 2, 2014
The American Philosophical Society has elected Professor Inez Fung to membership. The American Philosophical Society, the oldest learned society in the United States, was founded in 1743 by Benjamin... [Read more]
Apr 28, 2014
From the UC Berkeley News Center: By Public Affairs, UC Berkeley | April 23, 2014 Seven of UC Berkeley’s finest — including Chancellor Nicholas Dirks — have been elected to the American Academy of... [Read more]
Apr 22, 2014
Executive Vice Chancellor Claude M. Steele today announced that Mark Richards is stepping down as Executive Dean of the College of Letters and Science. Mark Richards has been Dean of Mathematical and... [Read more]