Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Geophysics

News and Awards

Aug 2, 2005
The event lasted for four days and drew people from Australia, China, Switzerland, Canada and across the US. Full size photo of the group.
Aug 3, 2005
The California Academy of Sciences was founded in 1853 to survey and study California's vast resources, as well as in response to concerns over the environmental changes during the California gold... [Read more]
Aug 4, 2005
Professor Fung's computer model indicates that the "breathing biosphere" can absorb carbon only so fast. Beyond a certain point, the planet will not be able to keep up with carbon dioxide emissions... [Read more]
Sep 2, 2005
Michael Manga is a geophysicist who applies his background in fluid dynamics to a wide variety of fundamental questions in geology. The phenomena he explores range in scale from microscopic to... [Read more]
Nov 1, 2005
The magazine's Board of Editors compiled a diverse list of those who during 2004-2005 exhibited outstanding technology leadership in the realms of research, business and policymaking. These awards... [Read more]
Dec 1, 2005
Walter Alvarez is the Desert Research Institute of Nevada's 2006 Nevada Medalist. Alvarez is a geologist who considers himself an Earth historian, and is fascinated by the challenge of reading the... [Read more]
Feb 1, 2006
Luna Leopold, professor emeritus, passed away on February 23, 2006. Some information about Luna and his work can be found at ... [Read more]
Mar 2, 2006
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) recently introduced Women's Adventures in Science, a series of books, targeted to middle-school-age girls, that explore the journey of preeminent female... [Read more]