Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Near-Surface Geochemistry and Geobiology

Post-Docs

Name / Contact Host / Education / Research
Tadesse Alemutadesse.alemu@berkeley.edu307 McCone Hall

Host: David Shuster and Nicholas Swanson-Hysell 

I am the UC President's postdoctoral fellow. I did my PhD at Oklahoma State University where I used field sedimentologic and structural, and remote sensing techniques to constrain the geodynamic evolution of an exhumed IntraCONtinental Sag (ICONS) basin.

Currently, I am doing a (U-Th)/He dating combined with paleomagnetic constraints to provide the necessary data for the testing of mechanisms for large scale exhumation following Neoproterozoic collisional orogenesis in the Arabian-Nubian Shield. Particularly, we are interested whether the extensive exhumation is related to Late Ordovician glaciation.

I am also interested in continental rifting and morphotectonics particularly in the East African Rift System.

Guleed Ahmed Hussein Aliguleed@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

Sarah Arvesonsmarveson@berkeley.eduLab: 243/245, 1E

I am an experimental high-pressure mineral physicist. My current research pursuits involve chemical mixing (and de-mixing) in planetary interiors and melting of materials at high pressures. I employ laser-heated diamond anvil cells and a variety of in-situ and ex-situ techniques to characterize material properties in order to understand planetary interiors.

Curtis Badenc.w.baden@berkeley.edu

Host: Roland Bürgmann

Marie Bergelinmbergelin@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

John Carterj.carter.1@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

Chen Li Weiliwei_chen@berkeley.edu225 McCone

Advisor:  Barbara Romanowicz

Education: MS 2014 (Geoscience) National Taiwan University; BSc 2012 (Earth Science) National Central University.
Research interests: Global seismology, tomography, ambient noise  

 

Yifang Chengchengyif@berkeley.edu

Host: Richard Allen

Kaitlin Creamerkcreamer@berkeley.edu

Host: Jill Banfield

Suhas Dasenahalli Lingarajusuhasdl@berkeley.edu

Host: William Boos

Felipe Gonzalezf_gonzalez@berkeley.edu407 McCone Hall

Host: Burkhard Militzer

Research Interests: Planetary interiors; high pressure physics; first-principles computer simulations techniques; molecular dynamics; equations of state.

Personal website:  http://www.gnm.cl/fgonzalez

Jonathan Groppja.gropp@berkeley.edu

Host: Daniel Stolper

Anna Ruth Halberstadtarhalberstadt@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

Tomas Hesslertomas.hessler@berkeley.edu

Host: Jill Banfield

Eben Hodginebenblake@berkeley.edu

Host: Nicholas Swanson-Hysell

Daria Holdenried-Chernoffdariah@berkeley.edu

Host: Bruce Buffett

Christopher Kinsleyckinsley@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

Utpal Kumarutpalkumar@berkeley.edu

Advisor: Barbara Romanowicz

Andreja Kustandreja.kust@berkeley.edu

Host: Jill Banfield

Diogo Louro Lourencodlourenco@berkeley.edu355 McCone Hall

Host: Michael Manga

Research interests: structure, dynamics and evolution of Earth and other terrestrial planets and moons as related to convective processes in the mantle, lithospheric dynamics and plate tectonics

Diogo's Google Scholar page

Chao Lyulyuchao@berkeley.edu

Host: Barbara Romanowicz

Pierre Maffremaffre@berkeley.edu

Host: Nicholas Swanson-Hysell

Petar Penevppenev@berkeley.edu

Host: Jill Banfield

Heather Shaddoxhshaddox@berkeley.edu

Host Roland Bürgmann

Rebekah Steinrestein@berkeley.edu

Host: Prof. Daniel Stolper

Research Interests: Terrestrial biogeochemistry, Paleoclimatology, Climate Change

Joseph Tulenkojtulenko@berkeley.edu

Host: Paul Renne

Kang Wangkwang@seismo.berkeley.edu

Host: Roland Bürgmann

Amy Williamsonamy.williamson@berkeley.edu

Host: Richard Allen

Yuankun Xuyuankunx@berkeley.edu201 McCone Hall(972) 816-3258

Host: Roland Bürgmann