Earth and Planetary Science
EPS Planetary Science

Seminars

We are hosting the EPS Seminar talks on Zoom, with the link provided to members of our departmental email list. To join our email list, please contact: eps_frontoffice@berkeley.edu
Date/Time Speaker Description Location
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 3:45pm
Yuem Park
UC Berkeley
Planetary cooling, tectonics, and weathering from 1 billion years ago to the present (PhD Exit Seminar) online
Thu, Sep 10, 2020, 3:45pm
Manuela Girotto
UC Berkeley
Data Assimilation of Terrestrial Water Storage, Snow, and Soil Moisture: Challenges and Opportunities online
Thu, Sep 17, 2020, 3:45pm
Bruce Buffett
UC Berkeley
The next geomagnetic reversal online
Thu, Sep 24, 2020, 3:45pm
Heather Savage
UC Santa Cruz
Taking the Temperature of Earthquakes online
Thu, Oct 1, 2020, 3:45pm
Richard Allen
UC Berkeley
Global Earthquake Early Warning: ShakeAlert, MyShake and Android online
Thu, Oct 8, 2020, 3:30pm
Tamara Pico
UC Santa Cruz
In and out of the last ice age in North America: Insights from sea-level change and river evolution online
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 3:45pm
Lisa White
UC Berkeley
Integrating fieldwork, fossil data, and visualization tools to enhance geoscience instruction for diverse audiences online
Thu, Oct 22, 2020, 3:45pm
Pupa Gilbert
LBNL
How organisms make crystals online
Thu, Oct 29, 2020, 3:45pm
Alison Hoyt
Max Planck and LBNL
Tropical soil carbon & greenhouse gas emissions: Threats from climate and land use change online
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 3:45pm
Lucia Gualtieri
Stanford
Turning noise into signal and listening to the environment with seismic waves online
Thu, Nov 12, 2020, 3:45pm
Paolo D'odorico
UC Berkeley (ESPM)
Water sustainability and food security: How to reconcile the rights of nature with human needs online
Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 3:45pm
Joanne Emerson
UC Davis
Not all viruses are bad: towards an understanding of viral feedbacks to biogeochemical cycling in soil online
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 3:45pm
Thanksgiving
holiday, no seminar N/A
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 3:45pm
Jon Castro
Univ of Mainz, DE
Lightning-induced weathering of Cascadian volcanic peaks online